Diary, Sewing

Shades of Blue ðŸ’™

Only a few months left till the end of 2023. Today I would like to present a little shortcut of 3 couture gowns in different shades of blue that I have created since January. The model is soft & delicate Mina from Icorose Doll and this year definitely belongs to her.

The first gown was made of blue tulle with decorative thread. Then the base was embroidered with blue flowers and beads – I’ve used thousands of them! The cut of the gown perfectly highlights the Doll’s figure – a heart-shaped top and two slits along the side seam. The filnal look was finished with tulle train. It’s hard to admit, but Mina had to wait half a year for this creation!

The second gown was made almost entirely on an embroidery hoop. First, I stretched two layers of light blue tulle on the hoop and marked the cut of the gown. Then I draped strips and pinned them to the fabric. I carefully sewed all the edges and cut out parts of the gown. Using the sewing machine, I combined all the pieces and sewed in the zipper. The bottom of the gown consisted of 7 circles, which I folded into quarters to add volume. Sewing the tulle sleeves was pure pleasure! In the end – a simple sketch and we’re done. Mina looked beautiful in light blue tulle gown!

The third gown looks the most delicate of all. I made it entirely on an embroidery hoop. The base was white and blue tulle, on which I sewed white lace flowers. Remaining space has been filled with blue and transparent/silver Toho beads. I also applied the idea of ​​draping to prevent the gown from being see-through. Similarly, the bottom was made of circles – smaller blue underneath, bigger white on top. I combined all the parts by hand sewing and added a zipper. Definitely the final result can be called simply heavenly. The third gown highlights Mina’s beauty best!

All gowns were made thanks to the courtesy of @koronowesuknie, from whom I received these beautiful fabrics. The owner usually says that nothing can go to waste, so the leftovers from the 1:1 wedding dresses found its new purpose in smaller scale. Julia, thank you very much!

The picture above is my own version of ‘What was I made for’ from Barbie Movie. The music video inspired me to present Dolls’ gowns the same way. I have high hopes to be more organized in the near future just to create more stuff before this year ends. Thank you all for being here! 

Stay tuned! 💙 

Leave a comment